Autumn’s here Already!

It doesn’t seem that long since I last wrote my blog but WordPress has just told me it’s been six months and it’s about time I wrote another!!! I know I said I was going to be quiet with head down doing lots of work but I indeed went VERY quiet as I was out of action for several weeks as I broke my ribs…felting two wall hangings!!! But in true heroic style two friends came to my rescue and did all the hard work of finishing and fulling them for me ready in time to be hung at Art van Go in Hertfordshire as part of the ‘From the Earth Exhibition. If you go on their ‘visual tour’ of the shop you will see them in situ!

 

Earlier in the summer I was selected from hundreds of artists by the readers of Craft & Design Magazine to be put forward to their annual awards. The judging for the Textile and Needlecraft section was judged by Polly Leonard from the selvedge magazine. This is what she had to say:
“All six of this year’s Finalists demonstrate commitment and passion for their chosen discipline. It is always difficult to differentiate amongst such a deserving group. All of the Finalists deserve to be congratulated for the tenacity necessary to develop the level of craftsmanship on display.
Sarah Waters makes good use of the three-dimensional qualities of felt. I am particularly drawn to her hats and boots. Sarah lives in the New Forest, and this proximity to the natural world has given her heightened concern for environmental issues, which she communicates in her work. She is a diverse maker and comfortably turns her hand to a variety of creative pursuits including teaching and community projects.” Polly Leonard, April 2016.

awards-logo-finalist16

 

Once again I was part of the Hampshire Open Studios, during August, at the Coach House Studios in Woodgreen. Great fun to be a part of every year -meeting new and old friends alike! This year even included a birthday party on the Sunday afternoon..Happy Birthday Peter!!

 

September has started with a bang and a fun-filled show at the Salisbury Contemporary Heritage and Craft Festival in the beautiful grounds of the Cathedral. A wonderful three days; the icing on the cake was being awarded the Best Local Maker 2016!! Press shots and interviews to follow…..

 

So that’s where I’m up to at the moment! My workshops are almost full now in the run up to Christmas..so if you were wanting to do one..you’ve probably left it too late! But go to Felt Workshops on my website for more details, just in case.

And finally I have lots of exciting things happening for 2017, including teaching on the cruise ships again and residential workshops across the country. But that blog is for next time…. until then Happy Felting!

Sarah

2 thoughts on “Autumn’s here Already!

Leave a Reply

