Wow! Amazing! Beautiful!

 

IMG_0514

‘Stone’ stand TG4, 2017

That was some of the many words written in my comments book at last week’s Knitting and Stitching Show at Alexandra Palace, London. I’ve only just had time to sit and reflect on how wonderful the week was….

IMG_0519

Some of the comments

After so long, in the planning and making, it finally came together. When I applied for the Knitting and Stitching Show almost 2 years ago I had a vision of using British wool to make large scale wallhangings that looked and felt like stone.  It was so lovely to see people touching and feeling (and even hugging) the stones. I wanted the textures of all the different fibres to be felt – the organisers had given me ‘Please do not touch’ signs which I rejected, much to the pleasure of all the visitors alike!

IMG_0598

Can I really ‘hug a stone’ ??

I really went on a fabulous journey in the research of my stones and learnt a lot along the way – from the history of standing stones to the superstitions of hagstones and the writings of ancient Ogham.  Over the week I met some great people in London – from the lady who bought an art book to sketch every day (on my advise!!) to the school children who sat cross legged on the floor to work out what the Ogham lines said…..

 

I am still managing to work with my Kombucha and used it along side the felt. Having now worked out how to waterproof the cellulose fabric I hope to move forward with the research next year.

 

The physical problems of making such large pieces were also a challenge but with help from some very dear friends…both physical and mentally I couldn’t have done it without them…so thank you from the bottom of my heart!!!

Two weeks and then I go to Dublin with the exhibition and on to Harrogate at the end of November..hope to see some of you there…..

Sarah x 

PS. Helen..never got that ‘selfie’ with you…!

DSC_2598

Stones -Sarah Waters, 2017

 

 

2 thoughts on “Wow! Amazing! Beautiful!

  1. Lovely to meet you today at Harrogate – a delight to meet an exhibitor who encourages touch. I love the layers, the abstract shapes, the textures you create in your work, thank you for the inspiration.

Leave a comment